Chelsea, Kensington

Kitchen W8

kitchenw8

Modern European | Chelsea, Kensington, Knightsbridge

This is a joint venture between top chef Philip Howard, best known for Elystan Street, and his business partner Rebecca Mascarenhas. The chef here is Mark Kempson, who worked with Howard at The Square. This has slowly become a Kensington institution, a laid-back neighbourhood restaurant, but one that has a Michelin star.


Test Drive

Kitchen W8 has had a big revamp - we take a look
This classic Kensington restaurant is about to turn 10 years old. It's had a complete refurb, so we popped down for a look and to try the autumn menu....
Read more

Restaurant details

Address: 
11-13 Abingdon Road, London W8 6AH
Nearest tube: 
High Street Kensington
Telephone number: 020 7937 0120
Now reopened
Michelin star 1 Michelin star
More info: 
Wheelchair access

Map

Swap Start/End
11-13 Abingdon Road, London W8 6AH

 

Critic reviews - total score 7 out of 10

Critics' score: 8
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on February 27, 2010
"...the food and the welcome make it a must-consider for anyone in Kensington with something to celebrate. " READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on January 17, 2010
"Overall, the food is far better than anything else you can eat in Kensington, though it occasionally suffers from ingredient generosity: one flavour too many. " READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 9.5
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on January 16, 2010
"This was my last review meal of 2009 and a stunning way to sign off on my first decade as a restaurant critic." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on January 13, 2010
"It’s a long time since I’ve had such a blast of luxurious extravagance outside a temple to haute cuisine." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on December 20, 2009
"It's the food that needs fine tuning. Don't get me wrong: we did have a fantastic meal, but just one of them, assembled from the various dishes we ordered." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
David Sexton Evening Standard
Reviewed on November 19, 2009
"Kitchen W8 is a bargain for this area, if such sophistication is what you crave — and it offers a more soothing time than, say, Kensington Place and other raucous rendezvous." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
"Richard & Peter" Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed by November 13, 2009
"One very much senses here the inspiration of Arbutus, a seminal West End success of recent times." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Charmaine Mok Time Out
Reviewed on November 05, 2009
"Both items [game consommé with bacon cream and a mini game hot dog and the grilled ox tongue with a foie gras baked potato] seem to be impish declarations that the kitchen knows how to have fun, even if everything else about the restaurant suggests your standard Modern European offering." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Michelle Court View London
Reviewed on November 04, 2009
"After a few incarnations in the past couple of years, Kitchen W8 seems to have finally found its niche." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4
Dos Hermanos Dos Hermanos Estimated score
Reviewed on November 01, 2009
"There were plenty of staff around too, giving the appearance of serious intent. Yes, it was all coming together. And then it began unravelling." READ REVIEW

 
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

0
Shares